Databases & Indexes

A variety of general and subject-oriented databases are available to search for article citations and the occasional book or government report.

Subscription Databases (Academy internal use only)

  Zoological Record

"world's oldest continuing database of animal biology...includes 1.8 million indexed and searchable records from 1864 to the present."

OCLC FirstSearch

"provides seamless electronic access to dozens of databases and more than 10 million full-text and full-image articles."

EBSCO Electronic Journals Service

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes

search the abstracts and indexes from all the Academy's full-text BioOne titles. While it does not search the full-text of each article, you can link to the full article from the brief abstract.

TL-2 Online (Taxonomic Literature 2)

"TL-2 is the standard reference work for plant taxonomic literature from Linnean times to 1940" and is a selective guide to botanical publications and collections with dates, commentaries and types - Second edition.


"Calflora provides information on wild California plants for conservation, education, and appreciation."

Return to Top

Other Databases (available to all)


serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library and "covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century."


" a freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library."

California Statistical Abstract

"a compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects" of California available in PDF and Excel formats.


(electronic Plant Information Centre hosted by Kew) -- search International Plant Names Index, Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature, Survey of Economic Plants of Arid and SemiArid Lands, Living Collection of c30,000 plant taxa individually or all at the same time).


Education Resources Information Center allows searching of more than 1.2 million citations (journals and non-journals) related to education. Full-text is available for more recent non-journals and "grey literature."


American Heritage Dictionary plus a thesaurus, computing, medical, legal and financial dictionaries, the Columbia Encyclopedia, and an acronym dictionary


a freely available database designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment.

Index to American Botanical Literature

"Covers various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany from 1995."

ING [Index Nominum Genericorum (Plantarum)]

"The Index Nominum Genericorum (ING), a collaborative project of the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT) and the Smithsonian Institution, was initiated in 1954 as a compilation of generic names published for all organisms covered by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature."


Multiple discipline database plus document delivery for scholarly and professional literature

Nature Precedings

"A place for researchers to share pre-publication research, unpublished manuscripts, presentations, posters, white papers, technical papers, supplementary findings, and other scientific documents biology and other fields."

Nomenclator Zoologicus v. 1-10

"A list of the names of the of the genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 2004."

Plant Information Online

Includes citations to plant science literature, listings for North American seed and nursery firms, and incorporates Flowering Plant Index


Bibliographic database for primatology including Primate Lit from 1940, Current Primate Rreferences and Books Received


Medical literature "a service of the National Medical Library that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to full text articles and other related resources."

Statistical Abstract of the United States

"the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S. which includes data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations."


The TROPICOS site provides access to the Missouri Botanical Garden's VAST (VAScular Tropicos) nomenclatural database. For any given scientific plant name, you can obtain current information on the name, its place of publication, type, and other information about the plant.

Return to Top

OCLC Databases


A selection of other databases through services such as OCLC FirstSearch are also available. Broad categories include: Arts & Humanities, Business & Economics, Engineering & Technology, General Science, News & Current Events, and Social Sciences. Please feel free to consult a librarian if you have questions on how to search any of these most effectively. Here's a sample list of databases:

  • Basic BIOSIS
  • ArticleFirst
  • HumanitiesAbs
  • EnviromentS
  • Books in Print
  • WilsonBusiness
  • Return to Top

    Academy Library Catalog

    Search the Academy Library's book and journal collections.

    Quick Catalog Search

      Word or Phrase:  
      Field to search  

    Need Help?


    Click above to get help, contact a Librarian, make an appointment, & explore our tutorials.

    Library Collections


    Explore new aquisitions, Special Collections, the Academy Archives, the Manzanita Image Project, and the Naturalist Center.

    eJournals & eResources


    The Academy Library subscribes to a variety of indexes and databases (such as Zoological Record) to assist with your research, and an extensive collection of full-text electronic journals.



    The Academy Library offers a range of information services, including reference assistance, training and orientations, and interlibrary loan.

    Library News


    On the Page, the Academy Library's newsletter. Keep up with new Library developments!

    Contact Info


    For general inquiries about the Academy Library please contact:

    Library Reference

    NEW! Chat live with a Librarian

    Explore the Academy
    Explore Science
    Events + Lectures
    Sustainable Future
    Plan Your Visit
    Getting Here
    Daily Programs
    Tour Groups
    Plan an Event
    About the Building
    Science Heroes
    Earth and Space Sciences
    Life Forms
    New Academy Campaign
    Planned Giving
    Corporate Giving
    Annual Fund